



Declaration

Unfinished Justice: Restitution and Remembrance

(Following European Conference on Restorative Justice Brussels, 26th April 2017)

Preamble

It is now more than seventy years after the Holocaust (Shoah) in which six million Jews – seventy-five percent of the Jewish population of Europe – were murdered. Only a small fraction of private and communal immovable and movable property illegitimately seized from Jewish victims has been returned or compensated to rightful owners, heirs, or to the Jewish people at large. Many Holocaust survivors live in poverty and without adequate social care, and their social welfare needs are expanding rapidly as they age.

In light of the above

We, members of the European Parliament, affirm the moral responsibility of European Union member states to advance Holocaust-era property restitution.

We also declare our enduring commitment to the provision of adequate and immediate social welfare support for Holocaust survivors, the demarcation, protection and preservation of Jewish cemeteries, mass graves and other burial sites, the preservation of Jewish heritage sites, and the promotion of Holocaust education, research and remembrance.

We recognize the commitment of the European Parliament to restitution of Holocaust-era assets as called for in previous resolutions of the Parliament and reaffirm past international principles and declarations that reflect a consensus for the restitution of Holocaust-era assets.

Considering the urgency of the matter

We call upon Member States of the European Union to reaffirm their commitment to resolve remaining issues on restitution and compensation of looted property, in accordance with the principles of the Terezin Declaration on Holocaust Era Assets and Related Issues, and to address the growing social welfare needs of Holocaust survivors. In 2009, at the conclusion of the Holocaust Era Assets Conference convened by the Czech EU Presidency, 47 countries endorsed the Terezin Declaration articulating principles for restitution, remembrance, and the welfare of Holocaust survivors.

We commend the recent appointment of the European Commission Special Coordinator for Combating Anti-Semitism, welcome the commitment of the European Commission to combat anti-Semitism and Holocaust denial, and call upon the European Commission to appoint a Special Envoy for Post-Holocaust Related Issues, including restitution. We also encourage all 47 states that endorsed the Terezin Declaration to appoint Special Envoys for Holocaust Related Issues, including restitution.

We call upon the European Union to provide technical advice and support to assist and monitor various restitution processes in Member States and to encourage the implementation of the Terezin Declaration by its Member States, in accordance with the Joint Declaration by the

European Commission and the Czech Republic Presidency of the European Council in Prague on June 29, 2009.

List of signatories

- 1. Gunnar Hökmark (Sweden, European People's Party (EPP)) Declaration Promoter
- 2. Charles Goerens (Luxembourg, Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)) Declaration Promoter
- 3. Péter Niedermüller (Hungary, Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats (S&D)) Declaration Promoter
- 4. Lars Adaktusson (Sweden, EPP)
- 5. Jan Philipp Albrecht (Germany, Greens/ European Free Alliance (EFA))
- 6. Petras Auštrevičius (Lithuania, ALDE)
- 7. Beatriz Becerra Basterrechea (Spain, ALDE)
- 8. Heinz K. Becker (Austria, EPP)
- 9. Bas Belder (Netherlands, European Conservatives and Reformists Group (ECR))
- 10. Brando Benifei (Italy, S&D)
- 11. Vilija Blinkevičiūtė (Lithuania, S&D)
- 12. Elmar Brok (Germany, EPP)
- 13. Reinhard Bütikofer (Germany, Greens/EFA)
- 14. Michel Dantin (France, EPP)
- 15. Esther de Lange (Netherlands, EPP)
- 16. Anneliese Dodds (UK, S&D)
- 17. Frank Engel (Luxembourg, EPP)
- 18. Tanja Fajon (Slovenia, S&D)
- 19. Fredrick Federley (Sweden, ALDE)
- 20. Christofer Fjellner (Sweden, EPP)
- 21. Monika Flašíková Beňová (Slovakia, S&D)
- 22. Eugen Freund (Austria, S&D)
- 23. Doru-Claudian Frunzulică (Romania, S&D)
- 24. Ana Gomes (Portugal, S&D)
- 25. Nathalie Griesbeck (France, ALDE)
- 26. Enrique Guerrero Salom (Spain, S&D)
- 27. Marian Harkin (Ireland, ALDE)
- 28. Maria Heubuch (Germany, Greens/EFA)
- 29. Brice Hortefeux (France, EPP)
- 30. Philippe Juvin (France, EPP)
- 31. Tunne Kelam (Estonia, EPP)

- 32. Petra Kammerevert (Germany, S&D)
- 33. Afzal Khan (UK, S&D)
- 34. Arndt Kohn (Germany, S&D)
- 35. Miltiadis Kyrkos (Greece, S&D)
- 36. Constance Le Grip (France, EPP)
- 37. Arne Lietz (Germany, S&D)
- 38. Barbara Lochbihler (Germany, Greens/EFA)
- 39. Verónica Lope Fontagné (Spain, EPP)
- 40. Juan Fernando López Aguilar (Spain, S&D)
- 41. Ramona Nicole Mănescu (Romania, EPP)
- 42. Fulvio Martusciello (Italy, EPP)
- 43. David McAllister (Germany, EPP)
- 44. Louis Michel (Belgium, ALDE)
- 45. Maite Pagazaurtundúa Ruiz (Spain, ALDE)
- 46. Vincent Peillon (France, S&D)
- 47. Soraya Post (Sweden, S&D)
- 48. Cristian Dan Preda (Romania, EPP)
- 49. Jozo Radoš (Croatia, ALDE)
- 50. Julia Reda (Germany, Greens/EFA)
- 51. Terry Reintke (Germany, Greens/EFA)
- 52. Frédérique Ries (Belgium, ALDE)
- 53. Dominique Riquet (France, ALDE)
- 54. Robert Rochefort (France, ALDE)
- 55. Marietje Schaake (Netherlands, ALDE)
- 56. Jasenko Selimovic (Sweden, ALDE)
- 57. Jutta Steinruck (Germany, S&D)
- 58. Dubravka Šuica (Croatia, EPP)
- 59. Tibor Szanyi (Hungary, S&D)
- 60. HannuTakkula (Finland, ALDE)
- 61. Charles Tannock (UK, ECR)
- 62. László Tőkés (Hungary, EPP)
- 63. Evžen Tošenovský (Czech Republic, ECR)
- 64. Helga Trüpel (Germany, Greens/EFA)
- 65. István Ujhelyi (Hungary, S&D)
- 66. Adina-Ioana Vălean (Romania, EPP)
- 67. Geoffrey Van Orden (UK, ECR)
- 68. Derek Vaughan (UK, S&D)
- 69. Boris Zala (Slovakia, S&D)
- 70. Tomáš Zdechovský (Czech Republic, EPP)
- 71. Milan Zver (Slovenia, EPP)